September 27, 2022

Bhubaneswar, Aug 29 : Odia athlete, weightlifter Jhili Dalabehera and shooter Shriyanka Sadangi were conferred with the prestigious Biju Patnaik Sports Award for outstanding performance in Sports and Games by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.
Jatni MLA Suresh Routray received an award from the chief minister on behalf of his son Siddhartha Routray who recently scaled Mt Everest. Siddhartha got a cash reward of Rs Three lakh.
For their humanity and selfless act of courage and bravery 14-year-old Pratap Tarei and 10- year old Subhashree Rout were conferred with the Biju Patnaik Bravery Award. They each received Rs. 1 lakh, a citation and a silver medal from the Chief Minister.
Coach Bishnu Mishra was conferred with the Biju Patnaik Sports award for Excellence in Coaching. He received Rs 1 Lakh, a citation and a trophy.
The Biju Patnaik Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism was conferred to Benudhar Das who got Rs 50,000, a citation and a trophy.
Biju Patnaik Award for Lifetime Achievement in Promotion of Sports and Games was given to former
Odia International cricketer, Debasis Mohanty. The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 3 Lakh, a citation and a trophy.
Rourkela Steel Plant (RSP) bagged the Biju Patnaik Sports award for Best Contribution to Sports and Games.
Atanu Bhowmick, Director, RSP, received the award of Rs. 1 Lakh, a citation and a trophy on behalf of the organisation.
On this occasion of the National Sports Day celebration, 53 meritorious sportspersons and para-sportspersons of Odisha received their appointment order for their outstanding performance in their sports disciplines and bringing laurels to their state and nation.
Besides, 291 sportspersons were felicitated with cash awards for their spectacular performance at the national and international levels.
Commonwealth Games 2022 medal winners in hockey. Amit Rohidas and Deep Grace Ekka were honoured by the Chief Minister.
While Amit received a cash award of Rs 75 Lakh for winning Silver, Deep received Rs 50 Lakh for winning Bronze.
Dutee Chand & Srabani Nanda who participated in CWG 2022, Padmini Rout in FIDE Chess Olympiad, Dinesh Kumar in CWG 2022 received Rs 7.5 Lakh each from Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera at the ceremony.
Similarly, Chess player Saina Salonika received Rs 1.5 Lakh, Football player Tankadhar Bag received Rs 2 Lakh, Blind Chess player Soundarya Pradhan received Rs 2 Lakh, Wheelchair fencers, V Ramesh Rao, Rakhal Sethy received Rs 2 Lakh each and Malati Panure received Rs 3 lakhs from the Sports Minister for their achievements in international platforms.
A total of Rs 2, 12, 82,500 was presented in cash awards by the Sports and Youth Services Department.
Congratulating all the awardees, Patnaik said, “It is a proud moment for us to honour you all. I am sure the achievements of the sports persons being felicitated today, will motivate more youth to take up sports as a career.”
He said “We are investing in sports across the state and supporting the sportsperson in their endeavour to achieve excellence.
The government, Patnaik said, will continue to support the sports activities and make Odisha, which is being recognised as an emerging sports destination in the country, a major force in the sports field in the coming years.

See also  SC Terminates Mandate Of CoA To Manage Affairs Of AIFF